top of page

Mag Mile Race Recap

“Disclaimer: I received free entry to the Run Mag Mile race as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review and find and write race reviews!”

So I have Run the Mag Mile race once before right after having my daughter. I love this course and running along the magnificent mile. The race held up to my expectations of it again this year.

Packet pickup was easy at the Fleet Feet store location in Old Town. I do wish there was a validated parking option like before but alas the new space does not have access to this. There is a divvy bike station across the street but it was pouring rain on the day I went. Anyone looking to pick up at this location should allow for extra time if you do drive. The swag was great a jacket that has a hood you can cinch and ZIP pockets!

Race day was super windy but with perfect temperatures (relief from the heat) and overcast sky’s. There were two sets of porta potties and the waits took about 5-7 minutes to get through the line. I really loved the real water hand washing station. The corrals had plenty of room when people moved all the way into them. The spacing of the race was 1 minute between each corral which gave a nice space between all the racers. During the race there were some spectators but I think the weather kept some away. I saw Heather at several places with her cow bell to cheer us on!

Running on the Magnificent Mile allowed for plenty of room between runners. I love the on course support with Nuun since that is my typical race training drink of choice. I also like that the Nuun was different flavors. The lakefront path was a bit congested for the front and mid pack mostly as marathon training runners were also on the path with bikers. I was mid to back of the pack since I used this race as a training run so my lakefront time was not very congested. Going under Columbus later in the race was also nice to stay on track with my GPS for longer. The medal is gorgeous and huge! I really do love my medals and ones that have city pictures on them even more. Post race there was hot breakfast brunch (yum!) beer and spirits as well as water, sports bars and bananas. There was also live music to enjoy while you were eating and socializing with other runners.

I would absolutely do this race again. I would love to see a half marathon course option again but maybe it was not popular. The 10K was a great distance option to have for those that want more then the 5K. The swag and post race goodies are amazing for a race. Let Marie and I know what your favorite race perks are!

Early race registration for 2019 is open if you want to sign up early and beat the sell out.

I also did pretty well and am looking forward to claiming my results on Athlinks. They are not up yet but I will head to unclaimed results from my profile and claim this race. It will be interesting to compare it to my past 10K results.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page