top of page

Winter Blues

The end of January in Chicago… Is now the time that everyone throws their New Year resolutions aside? If you think about it, if a healthy lifestyle is part of your resolution the odds are stacked against you from the start. With winter upon us, the cold, precipitation, and utter dreariness does not make you want to get out for a run or any other activity that is not you snuggling up on the coach. Also, who wants to eat salads or cold foods when it is 20 degrees out? Now is the time for comfort food.

I generally try to get through this time of year by adding in a new fitness class, registering for a race, and perusing the almighty crock pot recipes. I must say, finding my groove in 2017 has been difficult. Yes, Aubrene and I got this site up and running and I will soon start my new Pilates certification program but one place I am lacking is structure. After my fall marathon, I decided to sign up for a half marathon with a 2 hour goal in mind. It so happens that the date coincides with my Pilates training so I will not be able to run the race. Even though I am still trying to run four times a week there is no reason for me to run more than 6 miles if I am currently not in training mode. However, who am I kidding? My body is not really telling me a 2 hour PR would currently be achievable. Of course, after coming off of my calorie burning marathon training and subsequent two month food fest the pounds have somehow crept on. Why is it my clothes are fitting a bit tighter I wonder?

I really do so much better with goals and structure in my life so I am hoping with longer days, maybe a hint of sunshine, and a routine in my ever changing schedule I will again feel like I can find myself in a better place. Bedsides, spring is just around the corner, right?

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page