top of page

Under Armour HOVR Sonic Review

"Disclaimer: I received the Under Armour HOVR Sonic shoes as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!"

I have been looking for a new pair of training shoes so when the opportunity to test the UA HOVR Sonic shoes came up I was so excited for the ability to try them out.

Technical Specs

Offset: 8mm

Weight: 8oz

Toe Box: Medium to Narrow

Shoe Type: Neutral

Features

Ventilated Mid Foot: This has been my favorite feature with Summer running/training. My feet tend to overheat and with this shoe it is so breathable there has been no issue. The mesh also allows water to easily flow out of the shoe. I first hand experienced this with Rock & Roll Chicago. This shoe did not hold the water and dried quickly post race.

Zero Gravity Feel: The HOVR is built to maintain energy return to help eliminate the impact during a run. I found them to work well for my track workouts. They also do not feel heavy and work well as a race day shoe.

Soft Knit Upper: Feels like a sock vs. a stiff upper. Per UA it is meant to feel compression like. I did not feel compression that was uncomfortable in any way. The soft knit also allows for quick drying.

Anti-Microbial Sockliner: Molds to your foot and helps to reduce odor. Who doesn’t like shoes that reduce stink?

I have used these for speed workouts, long runs, tempo runs, TM runs, runs in the rain, and races. I have had no issue with blisters, fit, wear or tread. I have found these to be very comfortable and stylish. I do not typically wear my running shoes out as every day shoes but when traveling and running these have been great to pack to cover my needs. The price point is below most other running shoes I have used. At $100 for a pair of shoes these may be my new running/training shoes for the long haul!

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page