top of page

What Next?

Disclaimer: “I’m promoting The Ravenswood 5K as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to find and write race reviews!”

Winter has still not let up in Chicago. As I am writing this the snow is coming down. One way I cheer myself up is to think of the warm weather and races I would like to do. I am still in a funk as to what my next goals should be. After the Chicago Marathon I did not have a letdown because I had already signed up for the Gasparilla Ultra distance. Right now I have not run at all since I finished Gasparilla. I took Marie's super fun Surf Pilates class and want to do it again (I felt my body the next day), but I still miss running. I think I may just do some races for fun. One race I have considered is the Ravenswood 5K.

It is part of the RAM racing series and they traditionally have done a great job with other races I have been in. It is a great kick off to the spring/summer racing season in Chicago which for me cannot come soon enough! I do not live near Ravenswood but thankfully if you sign up at least 3 weeks before race day your packet including your swag can be mailed to you in advance. I love having that option when schedules are tight or packet pick up is not convenient. If you do decide to pick up onsite bring a food item to support the Ravenswood Food Pantry. The race is also partnered with NUUN who Marie and I love for our hydration. It is nice when you know the hydration already agrees with your system so no need to carry additional fluids on race day.

For the speedy people out there register in the elite corrals early for a chance at the prize purse. You have to have proof of an elite qualifying time and it is first come first serve for the elite corral. The prize purse cash is up to $400 for 1st prize (there are additional cash prizes for 2nd and 3rd place) with an additional $100 if you can break an event record. For males the time to beat is 14:49 and for Females it is 15:59.

There are kid’s race options for the little ones. I love watching the kids running and races that promote a healthy lifestyle for kids. If you are injured or are not into racing right now they are always in need of volunteers.

To learn more about the race, to sign up or for volunteer opportunities click here. Use the code BRRavenswood to free sunglasses in your swag bag!

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page